Alone in Seoul

I spent a month in Seoul, South Korea. I lived in a tiny pink room and taught Korean teenagers English Literature. I gotta say, Seoul was my first time as a white person – as in, Oh My God, I look really weird and I certainly do not look like most people in the world. It is not that I did not know this before, obviously, it is that I never had to feel it before. So for the first time, I felt that I was a member of a particular race, and I felt conspicuous.

Seoul was cold and neon. It never turned off. Street corners smelt like chilli and fish and drains, and the cafes smelt wonderfully sweet. I liked it. Here are some [often blurred] photos:

Leave a Reply

